The Perfect Drink

June 19th, 2008

Focus Text: Psalm 19: 7 (NLT)

7 The instructions of the Lord are perfect,
reviving the soul.
The decrees of the Lord are trustworthy,
making wise the simple.

Stop Here and Reflect Before Reading Ahead

My honeymoon had to be the most amazing trip of my life! It was the culmination of an almost two-year engagement (which I do not recommend), months of wedding planning, a sea of stress, and the collision of two families into one. Laura and I were exhausted and Mexico was just the romantic getaway we needed.

We stayed in Cancun at the Moon Palace, an all-inclusive resort with over two-thousand rooms and ten restaurants just at the hotel itself! It was an incredible place to spend the first week of our married life together. We ate to our hearts’ content, laughed wholeheartedly, walked on the beach, slept, and swam in the four-acre pool that stretched out across the back of the resort– that’s right– four acres! The pool at the Moon Palace was four times bigger than my back yard!

One of my favorite features of the all-inclusive experience was the free food and drinks (virgin drinks, obviously.) Specifically, I became enamored with the frozen drink machines that dispensed as many Strawberry Daquiries and Pina Coladas as I could throw back– and throw them back I did! For seven days, you could find me lounging in a blow-up chair sipping on my virgin Pina Colada. And when I got done with that one, another was waiting for my taste buds to engage. I literally gorged myself and I enjoyed every minute of it.

These amazing little liquid utopias, mixed on-site with freshly grown pineapples and coconuts, were not the kind you would buy as a frozen mix at Kroger. They were culinary perfection and they were absolutely free. All I had to do was walk up to the machine and pull the lever– Wala! Heaven in a cup!

Psalm 19:7 speaks of another drink that is perfect and refreshing: the “instructions of the Lord.” Now before your eyes roll completely out of your head because my transition here sounds so cheesy and predictable, I implore you to stop and smell the coconut (spiritually, of course.) Instructions are more than just commandments or rebukes– the Psalmist is referring to his personal love for God’s Word. To David, when God would speak, his very soul would be “revived.”

How often we miss the forest for the coconut trees! God’s Word is more than daily Bible reading. It begins there, but has no ending! It’s the internal guidance and encouragement of the Holy Spirit. It’s that indelible moment that a specific verse jumps off the page and smacks you right between the eyes. It’s when your heart wells up as you are reminded by a certain song of how much God means to you. There are so many ways that God speaks to us and they are as varied as the drink machines at our hotel.

Our generation desperately seeks the supernatural– something real and genuine that they can sink their teeth into. In my life, the moments I’ve felt most alive are the times that God has spoken to me through one of the various ways His voice is heard. Can you recall one of these moments in your life? I want to be like David– so desperate to hear what God has to say today that I long for it like a man crossing the desert with no canteen.

Like a free Pina Colada that quenches the chalky thirst that only worsens in the blistering Mexican sun, God longs to speak to us and revive our souls. All we have to do is walk up to Him and ask Him for a drink. So grab a glass and thrown it back– it’s free, you know!

 

 

 

~ by johndriver on June 18, 2008.

11 Responses to “The Perfect Drink”

  1. Incredible John, truly incredible. I will read this everyday.

  2. Also, shatramickle.com is a great site

  3. This verse spoke to me right from the start. It tells me that i can put ALL of my trust in God and that i shouldnt have to worry about the disitions i make as long as i make them through God because i know that in the long run my life will be happier. … hint-making the wise simple.

  4. wow. the main thing that kept poking out at me was the word “FREE”. it’s like God is just reminding me that theres nothing i can do to deserve or be disowned by him.

  5. Even though the instructions of the Lord are perfect…my follow through with those same instructions is usually far from it! This scripture is a great reminder that by following exactly in the path that HE has laid for me and surrending my own stubborn will is far better-and makes my simple mind wise 🙂
    And I have to agree with PJ, those drinks were spectacular!! Which reminds me, I need a vaction…anyone want to watch a newborn? 🙂

  6. The last part of the scripture…”making wise the simple” is translated the same in the NKJV. I think because it’s a good description of what the bible is for us. We are ignorant and we always will be, however everything God WANTS us to know is in the Bible. If we could read and process everything God wrote down for us, how “amazing” would that be? Imagine the possibilities.

    “The law of the Lord is perfect, converting the soul”. I love how that is phrased in NKJV. MY version is better John!!!!!!!! nah nah nah nah nah nah. Wait, that wasn’t Godly. Aw well, I’m still learning.

  7. As a fellow virgin pina colada drinker, I thoroughly enjoyed reading this. I loved this part in particular: “Like a free Pina Colada that quenches the chalky thirst that only worsens in the blistering Mexican sun, God longs to speak to us and revive our souls.”

    Oh does he EVER! Our view of who God is has been so tainted because we are not grounded on His word. We think He is out there trying to “get us” for every little thing we’ve done wrong and that is so far from the truth. His purpose is to bring us to Him, not to “get us.”

    And by the way, I would love to babysit a newborn! I so miss having babies!!!!!!

  8. This is really encouraging, to me. Especially right now when I am making a whole slew of crazy decisionsout of sheer faith. It just reassures me that I am doing the right thing because I am doing it through God. And also, it reassures me that God is the one who is telling me to make these decisions. No, big revelation here. Just a lot of reassurance that even though things are crazy right now, God is in control so it’s gonnna be okay. Isn’t “amazing” how this one verse said so many different things to everybody? Haha. God is great!

  9. I am always in awe how the Lord speaks to me through His Word. I am more in awe of how He really loves and cares for little me, enough to talk to me and meet every need I have and more. I have thought many times over how great it would be if we knew the plans God had for us, especially when we can’t smell the coconut. Then the Lord speaks softly to me and tells me that if it were that easy then I would never have a need to come before him and trust that, “He knows the plans he has for me (Jeremiah 29:11)”

    Hey… Laura…. Let me know when you are going on that vacation, I just might try and squeeze myself in your luggage! 🙂

  10. This was really reassuring to me. It reminded me that I should trust God in what He has to do in my life and not worry about how my life will turn out. My bible’s version (NIV) says:

    “Some trust in chariots and somein horses, but we trust in the name of the Lord our God.”

    I don’t know about everyone else, but I’m all about making things simple or doing things the easy way. In this verse, the part where it says “making wise the simple”, that just really stood out to me.

    This verse also reminded me of how much God loves me and that He will take care of me.

  11. Haha. I just realized that the verse I posted was in chapter 20.
    Sorry!!
    Disreguard that guys.

Leave a Reply

 
