Baby-Proofing Your Life

July 7th, 2008

 

Focus Text: Psalm 91: 3 (NLT)

3 For he will rescue you from every trap
      and protect you from deadly disease.

 

Stop Here and Reflect Before Reading Ahead

As most of you know, I will be a father in about eight days (unless little Sadie decides to make her appearance early.)  Since the day we found out we were pregnant, Laura and I have been making drastic transformations to our home.  These changes aren’t confined to the baby’s room, either.  The knowledge that our little girl is on her way has changed the very face of every part of our home.

The alterations began with paint . .  and lots of it.  I lavished the walls of Sadie’s room and bathroom with colors painstakingly and deliberately chosen by her two parents over hours of dinners, discussions, and trips to various home improvement superstores.  The color that resulted would be considered some sort of bluish green to the normal observer, but we’re the first ones to kindly inform you that its actually called “Celery Ice.”  Come on, it’s so obvious!

Next came the furniture.  Our trip to the baby furniture store taught me some very important things.  One specific truth is something I learned back when Laura and I were planning our wedding.  The principle is simple: normal, everyday items that you are used to purchasing for reasonable amounts of money suddenly become extravagantly expensive by simply adding the label “wedding” in front of their names.  For example, normal flowers might cost someone twenty dollars.  “Wedding flowers” on the other hand . . . oh let’s just charge two-hundred dollars!  A glass of water . . . free, of course.  A glass of “wedding water?”  Just hand over your wallet!

Apparently, the same principle applies to baby items, especially furniture.  After a meticulous process of baby furniture shopping, I sold one of my kidneys and made the down payment.  The next amazing thing about this particular baby furniture is that not only did we buy it all the way across town in Franklin, but they also don’t deliver and don’t do assembly.  I suppose they feel that it is part of the “dad test” or something.  So, after hauling the ginormous boxes all the way to our house in a huge, borrowed truck, I conned one of my good friends into helping me offload the cargo and fenagle the millions of pieces into the baby’s room. 

Next came assembly.  After fourteen hours of translating the instruction booklet into English, driving to Lowe’s to get the parts they left out, praying repeatedly for forgiveness, meditating on Ecclesiastes and the futility of life, and watching my wife remove all the sharp objects from the room, the furniture was finally put together.  See, that wasn’t so bad.

I would tell you all about the personal saga of installing the chandelier in her room, but some of you are young and it wouldn’t be appropriate.

As I have worked to prepare my home for my new daughter, my focus is always safety.  I see things now that I never thought of before.  I see sharp corners that could be hazardous and I see slippery places that could cause her to fall.  I see dangerous chemicals that must be locked up now and steep stairways that must be fenced off to protect her from falling.  As a father, I am literally planning the protection of my baby.

Psalm 91: 3 also speaks of the protection of a Father.  Like the possible dangers of my house, God also prepares the path of His children to guard them from hazards.  In the case of this verse, the Psalmist uses the word “trap.”  God is not just protecting us from random dangers in this world, but He is literally keeping us from the deliberately set traps of the enemy.  I picture someone walking through the woods completely unaware that a hunter has set a bear trap on the trail.  Without the guidance of someone who understands the path, our little “life’s hike” will most certainly end at the emergency room or worse.

This verse also uses the term “rescue.”  This would indicate that God’s protection is more than just preemptive.  In other words, sometimes we do mess up and fall into the enemy’s trap.  But God doesn’t just sit back and say, “Well, I tried to tell you!  Now you’re on your own!”  No, God also rescues us in the midst of our mistakes and pries open the seemingly impenetrable trap of the enemy.

The last part of the verse speaks of healing.  When we do fall, we get hurt and these wounds can become infected and fester.  Our Father is more than just our Rescuer; He’s also our Healer.  This healing can be physical, emotional, mental, or spiritual.  God is certified in multiple fields of eternal medicine.

So, just rest today in the fact that your Father is walking ahead of you through the house with His paint brush, tool belt, and safety manual.  His goal is to “enemy-proof” your life so that you won’t fall prey to the traps or inadvertently stumble across the poison.  But even if you do, God stands poised to touch you with His healing hand.  

~ by johndriver on July 7, 2008.

7 Responses to “Baby-Proofing Your Life”

  1. Psalm 91 altogether is an amazing chapter to read. To me, Psalm 91: 9-10 really caught my attention. It says, “If you make the Most High your dwelling- even the Lord, who is my refuge- then no harm will befall you, no disaster will come near your tent.”

    Like you said, God is not just protecting us from random dangers in this world, but He is literally keeping us from the deliberately set traps of the enemy.

    Psalm 91:3 assures me that the Lord is watching over me, kind of how you will watch over Sadie. I know that anytime I make a mistake or fall into temptation, he will rescue me and heal me to become strong through Him.

    Those words right there, prove how much he cares about and loves us.

  2. The part that says God is not just protecting us from random traps but from deliberate traps the enemy has set really spoke to me. It is amazing to think how he knows all about those traps that are out there and he can totally help us out of them. I want to make sure that I stay close to him so that I am able to walk the right path and know when God is protecting me. It’s a good thing to know he is a healer because I will mess up and still fall into traps sometimes. He is there to help me up before I can even ask him! The enemy feeds on those of us who are weak. If we are weak then we are less likely to know of the path that we are supposed to take. That is why we need to stay in touch with God to know the path he has for us, so we are not always falling into the traps the enemy has planned out so well.

  3. wow. this verse just reminds me that God is constantly looking out for us and protecting us in our time of need. and its like there are things he does in advance before we even come to these traps to prepare us. like point out a verse on anger and revenge to us right before someone makes us angry and we want to seek revenge but when the thought pops in your head you remember that verse and you thank God for saving you, its just amazing………………..

  4. This is exactly what i needed to hear from God today. I’m having a really bad day and its only 1 30. and when i read this, it reminds me that God is here with me right now. Helping me through the minutes of the day. While i slump and act like the world is collapsing.(exageration much?…. i think so)
    With him protecting me, says to me that he’s not going to put me in harms way.
    in other words, he’s NOT going to put me in a situation i CANT handle.

  5. The hardest part about being a parent is watching your child get hurt right before your very eyes. No matter how much I warn my kids to be careful, it is inevitable they are giong to get hurt. While there are times I want to say, I told you so….. I am still right there to pick them up, give them a hug, kiss or what ever else will heal their pain. There have been times when I have cried with them and there have been times when they needed a stern talk about their behavior, and sometimes there are no words I can say to make them feel any worse then they already do.

    I believe that is how the Lord deals with us. I know he is always there even when I do not follow his warnings, That is unbelievable love. I might bear the scars of my fall but he is always there to hug, wipe my tears, and give me the strength to hopefully never make that fall again.

  6. I really love the way Janet put it. I know God is there to cry with me and love me. He picks me up and brushes me off. I am so thankful. Wow, I really need Him. To me this verse is a promise and I know that He never breaks His promises. I can rest in that truth.

  7. If only we could all see through the father’s eyes…we would see the traps and dangers that lay ahead. Instead, just like little kids, we sometimes only see the excitement of a flight of stairs or water that might just be too deep for us. I am thankful that our Heavenly Father watches out for us-but I am also praying that God helps me grow in wisdom-so that I am more aware of the dangers the enemy has in store.

Leave a Reply

 
