P.S. God Loves You

July 15th, 2008

Focus Text: Psalm 91: 14-16 (NLT)

14 The Lord says, “I will rescue those who love me.
      I will protect those who trust in my name.
 15 When they call on me, I will answer;
      I will be with them in trouble.
      I will rescue and honor them.
 16 I will reward them with a long life
      and give them my salvation.”

 

Stop Here and Reflect Before Reading Ahead

Occasionally, Laura and I like to sit down on the couch and rent a good movie.  The moment that the decision to watch a movie is made, the arduous process of choosing the film begins.  You see, I have a certain genre that I most enjoy and she has a certain kind of movie that she wants to see.  Now, although I’m fast approaching my third decade of life, I’ve still been known to temporarily set aside my maturity for an hour and a half to immerse myself in mindless, slapstick comedy.  Chris Farley or Dumb and Dumber comes to mind.  You know, movies that just make you laugh even though you know they are pretty ridiculous.  Big gulps, eh?  Well, see ya later!

Laura, on the other hand, not so much.  She gravitates towards the more heartfelt side of Hollywood; you know, “chick-flicks.”  Now, I’m not saying that I can’t enjoy a good tear-jerking, completely unrealistic story that ends with the guy and the girl riding off into the sunset.  Sure, I’ve been misty-eyed before . . . (clearing throat) . . . ok, let’s move on.  How about those Titans!

Anyhoo, the other day we went through the process of choosing a movie and I humbly yielded the decision to her. Come on, she does have the pregnancy card to play.  The movie we rented: P.S. I Love You.  Yikes!  Now that’s a chick-flick title if I’ve ever heard one.

Couch ready.  Popcorn bowl already halfway eaten before thirty-five minutes of previews end.  Opening credits. Cheesy music.  Wallah!  Chick-flick now in progress.

In all my stoney manliness, I have to admit that it wasn’t a bad concept for a movie.  Basically, there’s this married couple, who like all married couples, have issues and problems.  But, they love each other dearly . . . awww!  Then, the guy battles cancer for a long time and eventually dies.  I know, pretty tragic.

So, this young widow begins the process of healing after the loss of her husband.  But one day soon after his passing, she receives a letter in the mail . . . from her dead husband!  She reads it and begins to realize that while he was sick for so long, that he had taken the time to prepare messages for her that would periodically come for months and months on end.  Some of them were funny, others were more serious. But they each gave her direction on how to deal with life after him.  Yeah, Laura definitely cried. Me . . . I was a rock!

The end of Psalm 91 has similarities to this concept.  The entire chapter has been someone else writing about what God will do for those who “dwell in the secret place.”  But here at the end, it’s like we’ve checked our mailbox and have found a letter from God Himself.  To read someone’s actual words is a much different experience than just hearing about what they’ve said.

The psalmist simply states: “The Lord says . . . ”  Wow, now that should get our attention.  What if I told you, “Hey, the President called for you and he left you a voicemail.”  Do you think you would listen to it immediately or say, “Eh, I’ll get to it later; it’s probably nothing.”  

God is speaking directly to us in the final verses of this chapter so that we will doubly listen to his message.  He says, “Listen, I will rescue.  I will protect.  I will answer.  I will be there in trouble.  I will honor.  I will reward.  I will give salvation.”  If you’re one who always feels that you’re hearing about God instead of hearing from God, consider this your personal letter from Him.  

Remember the conditions: love, trust, call on Him.  Hmm, that sounds a lot like a marriage.  You don’t have to be perfect to get married (thank God.)  But you do have to love, trust, and call on each other to make a marriage work.  God’s love isn’t contingent on your perfection; it’s contingent upon your position to Him.  Are you close or far away?  

Again, illustrations from movies are never perfect.  In our case, Jesus did die, but He’s no longer dead. His message to us today isn’t coming in the mail as if He’s no longer around to speak it; it’s coming directly to the inbox of our hearts if we will only accept delivery.

P.S. I know you’re struggling, but I’ll rescue you.  Love me.

P.S. I know you feel out of control and unsafe, but I’ll protect you.  Trust me.

P.S. I know you’re in trouble- call out to me and I’ll answer.  

P.S. When hard times come, I’m not far away– I’ll stay close to you.

P.S. I want to honor you, not to disgrace you.

P.S. Your life is in my hands and I love to help you live.

P.S. God loves you!

 

 

~ by johndriver on July 15, 2008.

5 Responses to “P.S. God Loves You”

  1. Wow. I don’t think there is anything else to say….except I can’t believe you gave away the entire movie!!! Good thing I’ve already seen it. Anyway,

    I just read my own personal love letter from God. How amazing is that? I need to put this where I can see it everyday to remember what God has promised me.

    I’m praying for you guys today! Love you!

  2. Wow. I love that movie. It’s just awesome how you put that. God did write us a love letter. And what an amazing one it is.

    One thing I think you left out: in the movie the letters stopped eventually because the man couldn’t keep writing to her after he was dead, but God continues the letters. They never have to stop if we keep seeking Him. He’ll keep providing if we keep going to the mail box and searching for the much anticipated love letter of what he wants us to do with our lives and what would make him happy.

    That’s all.

    Let me know how the surgery went. How’s the baby? What does she look like? Does she look more like you or Laura? You know, all that good stuff.

    I’ll be praying for your family. And CONGRADULATIONS on the baby girl!!!

    Love you guys

  3. This story is really good. I’ve been waiting to see that movie for some time now..but now whats the point, you told me the whole movie and put a verse with it. Haha im kidding. I was gonna say what bree said as soon as i read this story. It’s true, God is never gonna stop writing us “letters”. He’s always there and we should rejoice in that!

    –Side note
    Oh my gosh! Your a daddy! What does she look like?! Is the georgous!? Of course she is! I cant wait to see her!!!

  4. Thank God for his love! God knows the current situations in our lives. He is there with a helping hand, ready to hold us. He just wants us to be close to him, and believe that what he says in his love letters is true. If you think about it, he does not just say that stuff randomly. When you hear from God, its specifically to help you out with the situation your in at the time. That is cool. I know I want to be as close to God’s promises as he is to the situations in my life!

  5. First off i love this movie, i could watch it everyday =]
    And you brought everything together masterfully i thought!!

    It really hit me when i read the little P.S. things at the bottom of the paragraph…

    P.S. I know you’re struggling, but I’ll rescue you. Love me
    P.S. I know you feel out of control and unsafe, but I’ll protect you. Trust me….

    When i read that i was like wow all he really wants is for us to love and trust in him…and we are so busy we cant take 5 minutes of our time to talk to the one person who truely loves us more than life itself!?

    I havent been doing the best with keeping up with my praying & reading but this daily thing really gives me the boost i need to pick it up!!

    I dont think that what i said had to do with the verse but i think it is totally awesome how God says if u call on me I WILL answer…it doesnt say if you call on me I MIGHT answer if i have time…it lets you know that he IS always there and is always watching over us…and if we need him all we gotta do is ask…i thinks it is funny how sometimes ppl are like God isnt listening to me he never hears me when i call i dont know why i bother…when the truth is he DID hear you and he IS going to answer if you would just hold on and stop freaking out for a second you’d notice that God has already made everything okay haha!! Gotta love God right!!! =]

    P.S. i love sadie i will see her thrusday or maybe wednesday if someone will take me…but i dont wanna see her till i can hold her in my arms =] i bet shes the most beautiful baby in all the world!! She is soo lucky to have the 2 greatest parents in the world but the only down side to this is now we gotta share you and laura haha!! I LOVE THE DRIVERS 😀

Leave a Reply

 
