Spittin’ Image: The Chronicles of Sadie (day 3)

July 18th, 2008

Focus Text: II Corinthians 3: 18 (NLT)

“So all of us who have had that veil removed can see and reflect the glory of the Lord. And the Lord—who is the Spirit—makes us more and more like him as we are changed into his glorious image.”

 

Stop Here and Reflect Before Reading Ahead

Sadie-watch.  Day three.  

Energy level . . . adequate.  

Emotional well-being . . . stable for the moment.

Knowledge . . . still lacking, but increasing daily my miniscule increments.

All in all, the situation is secure.

She’s as beautiful as ever!  Last night, she slept for like four hours straight . . . that’s just a little more than Pastor Andrew sleeps every night.  For the most part, she slept her entire day away– except for the regimented feedings and diaper changes.  Laura’s feeling much better and therefore, so am I.  My blessings have overflowed, as has the steady stream of welcome visitors to our little cottage here on the fourth floor of the hospital.  These visits have produced many things including:  

Gifts.  Yeah, try two identical pairs of University of Tennessee booties from two different people; and the funny thing is, another person almost bought the same ones.  My school spirit was doubly (almost triply) stirred!  Yesterday, we received a spectacular plant (a hydrangea, to be exact) that was so large that it completely eclipsed the hallway just inside our door.  Yeah, and I’m pretty sure that the delivery guy herniated a disc in his back lugging it down the hallway.

Anecdotes. I’ve noticed that our experiences here at the inception of parenthood jog the memories of parents who at one time took their first steps down this same path.  We’ve heard dozens, if not hundreds, of amusing and helpful anecdotes from these veterans.  Sadie’s arrival has taken many parents back down their own “chronicle” adventures with their precious little ones.  It’s comforting to know that so many people have trod this particular path and lived to tell about it.

Sadie Observations.  These are by far the most frequently occurring discussions in our room.  From her famous gargantuan feet and “monkey toes” down to her long, lanky “piano fingers.”  So many visitors, especially Mommies, have the initial inclination to take off her clothes for a closer look.  She’s okay with it, though, we had a talk.

The most recurrent observation is the ongoing debate regarding which parent she looks more like.  Early polls show me in the lead by a landslide, but the other candidate is surging in certain areas of “Sadiedom,” specifically in the region of the shape of the eyes.  Again, it’s too early to tell for sure, but remember that if you don’t vote, you can’t complain about the outcome . . . register today!

In all seriousness, I’m astounded at the mysterious conglomeration of her mommy’s features with her daddy’s.  Again, I’m sure this is obvious to most people, but you don’t really experience this particular “little person puzzle” until you bundle up this tiny darling and gaze into your own eyes, flawlessly positioned as a part of her face.  Your eyes on her face . . . yeah, it’s another unbelievable phenomenon of parenthood (as if any more could happen in this short time.)

Children are reflections of their parents– the fusion of their features.  “She has your nose.”  “She’s got your puffy lips.”  “Her smile looks just like yours . . . oh wait, I think that was just gas.”

When Laura and I first became pregnant and began trying to conceptualize what our own particular concoction of baby would look like, I think I kind of had a “Mr. Potato Head” image in my head.  Maybe big eyes with tiny ears with a round nose?  At first glance, it seems impossible to know how to combine two completely different countenances into one cohesive little human outcome.  But somehow, her petite, delicate features are the perfect combination of Mommy and Daddy, all in flawless and balanced proportion.  She possesses her own personal individuality, yet she looks like me.  How amazing!

Just because we share similar features doesn’t mean that we look exactly the same.  Let’s see, I’m a twenty-nine year old man and she’s a two-day old infant girl.  I eat steak and she eats milk.  I write books and she writes “poopy drawings.”  I’m speak almost fluent English and she speaks a mysterious dialect known as “newborn.” Yet, if I’ve heard it once I’ve heard it a dozen times: “Sadie is the spittin’ image of her Daddy!”

Being “in” someone’s image doesn’t mean that you’re their carbon copy.  It means you share certain attributes that obviously reveal your familial relation to each other.  II Corinthians 3:18 speaks of this mystery, but in a spiritual nature.  The truth?  The more we are exposed to God, the more we take on His image.  In other words, we begin to look like Him.

What are the features of God that His children reflect?  Well, I’d like to have His eyes so that I could see people and situations they way He does- with wisdom and mercy.  I’d also like to have His ears so that I could hear the cries of those who are in need and respond with loving aid.  I’d like to have His nose . . . just because.

As she grows, Sadie will become “more and more like” me and Laura.  That doesn’t mean she won’t have her own characteristics; it just means that she’s made in our image and that our likenesses will be seen in her existence.  How will she learn how to walk?  By watching us.  To talk?  By watching us.  To eat?  You get the point.

How do we learn to live lives pleasing to God?  By watching Him.  If we observe Him enough over time and actively imitate Him, people just might start seeing the resemblance!

 

 

 

 

~ by johndriver on July 18, 2008.

5 Responses to “Spittin’ Image: The Chronicles of Sadie (day 3)”

  1. It’s kind of comforting to know that we are made in God’s image, and yet it makes me curious to know if God is going to be skinny like John, or have a belly like me – we are brothers after all! Seriously, I know that when I make something – I take great pride in it and as a self described perfectionist, I’m not satisfied until everything last detail is, well, perfect. I find it amazing that God has taken the time to create me (in His image!) and that He is so creative to make so many others like Him as well.

  2. That’s awesome! You sound like you love her so much. It’s nice to know that we can watch God and know that we’re in good hands and he’s going to take us to high places. He’s not going to screw up so it’s ok to watch Him and follow his every move.

    For the record… from what I’ve seen Sadie looks more like you right now. (at least in the picture she does) =D

  3. todays blog was very funny at times. there are very good comparisons between sadie just being born and this bible verse. it helps me have a clearer understanding. i am so happy for the both of you. she is a precious baby. yall will be in my prayers! love ya 🙂

  4. When I was little and I was growing up in Puerto Rico it was said that the reason newborn babies smiled was because an angel was whispering in their ear. It wasn’t blamed on gas! 🙂

  5. Being in God’s image is very exciting. I think of it as a challenge though. My main goal through resembling God, is so that others will see him through me. That is a pretty big responsibility to have on my shoulders. I mean after all, I see a lot of people pretty much everyday. I have a peace from thinking this through because the more and more I become like God, the more unlikely it is for me to mess up and be a bad influence on people. I’m not saying I will one day be perfect and never have to worry about letting others down, but with having the holy spirit portray God’s image through me, I become more “in touch” with God. With all of this said, it is extremely important to maintain a relationship with God. The only way to look more like him, is to grow with him.
    I’m excited to see who Sadie will resemble more when she gets older!

Leave a Reply

 
