Sadie’s New House: The Chronicles of Sadie (day 4)

July 21st, 2008

Focus Text: Ephesians 2: 6-7 (NLT)

For he raised us from the dead along with Christ and seated us with him in the heavenly realms because we are united with Christ Jesus.  So God can point to us in all future ages as examples of the incredible wealth of his grace and kindness toward us, as shown in all he has done for us who are united with Christ Jesus.

 

Today, it finally arrived: the day we got to take home our little angel!  I began the arduous process of ferrying the assortment of luggage, equipment, clothing, gifts, flowers, balloons, paperwork, and the full family of pillows to our little car; which by the way, was already equipped with car seat (checked by an officer, mind you), pull-down window shades, little light-up kick game for the baby (even though she won’t be able to reach it for like four months), and mirror in the back to monitor baby . . . whew.  I’m sure Sadie would have been very disappointed in us if we weren’t so well-prepared.

The process of being discharged is never simple.  Four hours, but here’s the gist.  Wait for the obstetrician.  Wait for the pediatrician.  Wait for the nurse.  Oh, shift change.  Wait for the new nurse.  Fill out this form.  Sign this one.  Press hard, you’re making six copies.  Here’s your prescription . . . and Laura, here’s yours.  Here’s a list of things you need to do for Sadie everyday . . . you might want to sit down for this.  Alright, now we’re going to wheel Laura and Sadie down to the front entrance.  You go get the car.

Car!  Right, got it.  My coffee-driven drunken stupor veers me towards the elevators.  Down button . . . check.  Wait to reach bottom floor.  Focus!  Just because I’m not walking, I mustn’t dose off.  Step off of elevator.  Walk towards door . . . automatic door.  Does it swing out or in?  It’s a slow door and answering incorrectly could have a disasterous and embarrassing outcome.  Doors safely navigated.  Cross street while remaining uninjured.  Unlock car.  Roll down windows.  Drive around the block with air on full blast. Pull up to door.  Jump out of car.  Snap car seat into place.  Help Laura into the back seat where she can keep an eye on the little one.  Check.

Next comes a very surreal moment in time: pulling out into traffic with your whole new family in the car together for the first time.  I wait just a little longer at the stop sign.  I look a few extra times before turning.  I definitely go slower.  The car isn’t just mine anymore; it’s Sadie’s too.

As I journey home, I realize that Sadie, though sound asleep in the car seat, has just hit the motherload! She’s about to be carried into a house that for at least the next eighteen years, she can call “her” home. She didn’t build it; I did.  She’s never written a check for the mortgage.  She’s never mowed the grass, taken out the trash, done the dishes, taken our dog Brutus outside, or sat around lamenting the fact that drywall tape is coming loose on the ceiling.  She’s never done one solitary thing to contribute, yet on this day, it’s all hers!

When we walk in the door, her room is already prepared– custom-made with painstaking craftsmanship by her mommy and daddy– painted and caulked with the finest of detail.  Baskets of bibs, boppies, and baby books line the closet beneath the full wardrobe hanging on display like a princess’s east wing of a royal castle.  Every detail preconceived and pre-made with her needs especially in mind as if she already slept there.  

Her room; our work.

The kitchen cabinets have all already been reorganized and stocked with every sort of bottle, sippy cup, liner, and accessory that Target has to offer.  

Her stuff; our purchase.  

A bonus room closet full of every swing, stroller, and swanky new contraption in existence– much of it just awaiting months of years to pass so she can be old enough to use it.  

Her accessories; our assembly. 

It’s all hers!  You know why?  Because she’s all mine!  

Now, her membership in this family will require her to contribute once the appropriate age is reached; but not to earn her home.  No, this house has been hers since the moment we began to dream about her arrival.  At our dining room table, a little highchair has been strapped to one of our existing seats for months now.  Literally, Sadie has already been seated where we sit.

That’s the point of Ephesians 2: 6-7: being pre-seated where you belong . . . even if you’re not there yet. The Bible tells us that we’ve literally been seated in “heavenly realms” because we are united with Jesus. That means we’ve hit the motherload . . . oh, but only if we’ve been united with Jesus.  Love, joy, peace, hope, heaven, purpose, contentment– all the things that Jesus possesses– that’s right, we now have access to it.  That doesn’t mean that we’re able to take hold of everything at present– Sadie’s not quite ready for her highchair; but it’s hers.

Grace is ours, so we should live like we have it.  Not foolishly.  Not arrogantly.  No, like we live in the house of our Father, humbly being a part of His family– sharing His name and submitting to His Fatherhood in our lives– living lifestyles that reflect our bloodline.  That blood purchased this place for us, so maybe we should start living there.

His grace; our gain.

 

 

 

 

~ by johndriver on July 21, 2008.

3 Responses to “Sadie’s New House: The Chronicles of Sadie (day 4)”

  1. God has a place for me in one of His chairs even though I’m not there yet. He’s got a room set up for me even though I won’t be sleeping. He has everything arranged so that I can be nice and comfortable and just move on in when the time is right. He’s had it prepared for me before I was even thought of. Correction, before I was even thought of on Earth. God was thinking about me when my great grandparents were in the womb. God thought about me when he was making the world. He even thought about me when there was no world.

    That’s a great feeling. God’s constantly thinking about me. He knows what decisions I’m going to make and He hopes that I make the right ones, but when I make the wrong ones He’s still thinking about how much He loves me and how much He wants me to repent and come closer to Him.

    Thank you God for not giving up on me and tearing down my room for a new resident at the first sight of a mistake.

    It’s great that you guys got to take her home. I hope she likes her new room and all the neat stuff that her friends got her at her baby shower. We love her… even though I’ve only seen pictures… =D

  2. Wow! Thank you God for keeping the door open for me even when I do mess up! That is truly grace. You give me what is undeserved! Thank you for your forgiveness and the many second chances I’ve been given. God want us us to draw near to him, and stay inside his home. He is our shelter anyway! A shelter could definitely be considered a home! That is awesome to know.

    How exciting! Bringing little Sadie Jane Driver into her home for the first time! I hope you guys get some rest, and enjoy every bit of your new member to the family!

    🙂

  3. This is “Sam” posing as the DYDaddy to leave a comment. (I don’t think it’s illegal.) I’ve loved catching up on the lives of the Drivers, now, that camp season is completed. I can’t wait to actually meet Baby Sadie and congratulate you and Laura for a “job well done!” Bringing Daner home to Crossville from St. Mary’s in Knoxville was quite the roller-coaster ride over the mountains. He tried to get us home before dark so that I could see the “Welcome Baby” signs and balloons our youth group posted around the house. It took my mother a few days to forgive him for driving so fast. Love y’all dearly

Leave a Reply

 
