The Projectile Princess: The Chronicles of Sadie (day 5)

July 22nd, 2008

Focus Text: Isaiah 55: 8-9 (NLT)

8 “My thoughts are nothing like your thoughts,” says the Lord.
      “And my ways are far beyond anything you could imagine.
 
9 For just as the heavens are higher than the earth,
      so my ways are higher than your ways
      and my thoughts higher than your thoughts.

 

Stop Here and Reflect Before Reading Ahead

The first day at home was a dream . . . at first.  Sadie’s on a very regular three-hour schedule of feeding, sleeping, and waking.  Our first few hours at home were no different.  With every moment she’s in my life, I can feel myself being twirled around her little finger tighter and tighter.  Hey, isn’t that the way it’s supposed to be for daddies?

Then, nighttime fell upon the Driver household and everything changed.  It was a fabulous beginning with a midnight feeding, diaper change, and presto: baby’s back down asleep.  Whew, that wasn’t so bad! Then, the 4:00 a.m. feeding came and the bottom fell out . . . literally.  Apparently, my little girl has set the Guinness World Record for the most powerful newborn suck.  The child could suck a bowling ball through a straw in five seconds flat!

This is great, except for the fact that the particular bottle she became used to in the hospital causes her to literally inhale her milk huge, air-filled gulps at a time.  All of this creates a recipe for hiccups and and an unhappy, gassy little princess.  

Time: 4:20 a.m.  

Location: Sadie’s room.  

Mission: have her asleep in the next ten minutes so I can go back to sleep.  

Her poor Mommy still recovering from surgery had already spent half the night trying to calm her, but the curse of hiccups was keeping Sadie from staying asleep.  Daddy intervened, putting Mommy to bed and taking on the challenge of hiccup suppression and newborn sleep success.  

I walked towards her glider to sit down and then “Mount St. Sadie” erupted in my arms, projectile vomiting all over the ottoman.  In the darkness, I stumbled towards the wipes to try to clean it up, while keeping Sadie relatively calm and without waking Laura who was in desperate need of rest.  The wipes were in a plastic dispenser with a slitted “pop top” that allowed them to individually feed through from the top. Unfortunately, they had not been fed through the slit yet, so I opened them and began pulling out wipes like one of those magicians who keeps pulling the perpetual handkerchiefs from his sleeve.  Sadie was crying on the outside, but I think she had to be internally laughing somewhere in that gassy little body of hers.

Spit up cleaned, baby awake but not crying, and a clock that read 5:00 a.m. still found me in Sadie’s room.  During the pregnancy, one of the few purchases I insisted on was a glider that doubles as a recliner.  Great decision!  I reclined in the chair with my baby as the first glimpses of dawn’s light began leaking through the window.  My friend, Jonnie, says that when you’ve been up all night without sleep and you see the morning sun that it’s like God’s shining a flashlight in your eyes followed by an ominous voice saying, “What did you do?”  I could relate.

However, the new father in me actually relished the moment.  She was calm and eventually went to sleep in my arms.  I was comfortable, Laura was finally sleeping, and Sadie was perfect– what more could a man ask for?  Though not the way I plan on spending too many nights over the next several decades, my first night at home with Sadie was more than memorable.

The next morning found Laura and I brainstorming a solution for the hiccup conundrum.  A trip to Target and the purchase a whole new line of feeding equipment found us having more success the next day.  At the root of the problem was Sadie’s familiarity with the bottle from the hospital and her insistence on sucking down her milk at breakneck speed.  In her little mind, that’s the way it was supposed to be; but what she didn’t realize was that her thoughts on the matter were actually making life more difficult for herself (and her parents.)  Our thoughts were more correct.

Does Sadie have the mental capacity yet to weigh the pros and cons of newborn feeding practices?  Can she conceptualize what’s causing her tummy to hurt or proactively seek solutions to the problem? Negative.  Though I know she is the smartest five-day old little girl on earth, she’s still only five days old and those particular thoughts are just a little too “high” for her.

Isaiah speaks of this concept concerning God and His children.  At first glance, this scripture could make skeptics claim that God is demeaning our intelligence; but that’s not the contextual concept of this verse at all.  God is simply stating the truth: Look, you are like a five-day old and you cannot understand things the way I do.  In fact, your way is actually harmful to yourself.  You can’t fully comprehend the in’s and out’s of the complexities of the universe . . . or of the earth . . . or even of your own psyche . . . all of which, I created.  Just let me make the necessary adjustments you need to keep you from “spiritual hiccups” because “my thoughts are higher than your thoughts.”

So, as Sadie’s corrective course of action (for this day) was decided by her parents, she remained oblivious and simply enjoyed her rest.  But you and I are not oblivious!  We have the choice every day to let the “higher” thinking of God lead our lives or to continue “spitting up” because we want things the way we want them.

I don’t know about you, but I choose relief and rest.  That’s the way my Father wants it for me.

~ by johndriver on July 22, 2008.

4 Responses to “The Projectile Princess: The Chronicles of Sadie (day 5)”

  1. This is something i need to work on. Allowing God’s correct way to overcome what i want. There are times when I know what is right, but my mind convinces me otherwise. He is the one who created me and leads my life. I should respect and obey Him. I hope all is well with Sadie!

  2. Ya know, I’m glad that I don’t have all the knowledge that God does. He knows so much that it would be stressful to the human body and the human mind to have His knowledge. So I’m very happy that I’m not the way God is. I would rather not see the pain in store for me when I take in the bottle at rapid speeds because then I may be scared to even take in the food that I need and I wouldn’t get the right nutrition (metaphoricly speeking of course).

    Best wishes for the baby deal and getting it figured out. HAVE FUN! =D

  3. There are so many things in life I just don’t get. There have been many seasons in my life where I just cannot for the life of me understand what in the world God was thinking. Here is the joy in all of what I just spoke of. It is not my job to understand what his plan is for my life. Just like a 5 day old little baby, Sadie does not ask why…. she just trusts and believes that her parents have her best interst at heart. Yes… it is hard to remind myself of that when I am faced with a painful situation. There are just some things that we will never have answers to this side of heaven. One thing I know and believe is that God always sees the bigger picture. My job is to be still, trust and know that He is God.

  4. Well, once again, this devotion brings me back to my favorite verse. It is Jeremiah 29:11, For I know the plans I have for you declares the Lord, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. God is in control. He knows what is best for me, even when I really would rather him not work in my life at the moment. That sounds so bad to me when i publicly announce it that way, ” don’t want him to work in my life that way.” I just need to work on my ability to NOT be so stubborn! God’s plan is so much better, so much wiser, so much safer than mine could ever be! He is the creator of the world and of me. He created me for a specific purpose. No one knows what that purpose is yet, except for him. Obviously, since God is the only one who knows the course my life should go, he is the only one who should decide the little roads too, the ones that will matter at the very end! God help me to be more submissive with my decisions in life. I do not want to be in control, but allow you to have all of me instead!
    I love Sadie! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
