My Sadie Burrito: The Chronicles of Sadie (day 8)

July 25, 2008

Focus Text: Hebrews 10:23 (NLT)

Let us hold tightly without wavering to the hope we affirm, for God can be trusted to keep his promise.

 

Stop Here and Reflect Before Reading Ahead

Time has flown by and suddenly, Sadie is a week old!  Already, I can see what parents mean when they say you blink and your children grow up.  I understand that my last two weeks of Daily Threads have focused on the Chronicles of Sadie and that those of you who aren’t parents may not always relate completely with the experiences I’ve been discussing, but I hope that the principles of God’s unbreakable Fatherly love for you has shown through.  Next week, I plan to recommence with the regular Daily Thread (though you Chronicles fans out there should keep watching for sudden surprises.)  And for those of you who have expressed some chronological confusion because you know that we’re actually past the days that I’m writing about, remember that I don’t post on weekends, so we’re not in real time.  You may be reading this on Friday, but it’s actually a reflection from Tuesday.

Therefore, I reflect once again upon the my little precious princess and the events of her short, yet remarkable life.

Tuesday.  Staff meeting.  My tasks are stacked as high as ever as I prepare for the upcoming trips and events of our youth ministry and as I scramble to catch up from my time off.  About mid-morning, I called home to learn that munchkin wasn’t having a very good day.  Apparently, her little stomach was upset and she wasn’t going down for her nap as usual.  I felt horrible for her.

Though I lack exhaustive wisdom in parenting (since I’ve been doing it a whole week now,) I have learned a few things.  First of all, Sadie isn’t nearly concerned with keeping our perfect little schedule as we are. Laura and I have been researching and studying for nine months about all the various techniques and processes by which infants can be helped along into routine and stability.  Sadie, however, apparently hasn’t read these books.

The second thing I’ve learned, which is a technique and that I exercised on this day of sour stomachs and excessive crying, is that Sadie is most soothed and comforted when she is wrapped tightly in her blanket. When I say tightly, I don’t just mean covered up and comfortable– I mean pulled excessively tight like a little burrito– my Sadie burrito.

Here’s are a few rough equations that I’ve devised for the whole process:  

 

crying + fussiness = need for a diaper change and the preparation of baby’s sustenance

clean diaper + new outfit (per her Mommy)= less fussiness, but still unsatisfied princess

beginning process of feeding + a few gentle whacks on the back + stretching out her little legs= a monstrous burp

 

And here’s the the essential “quadratic equation” of Sadie’s soothing procedures:

 

a tightly swaddled Sadie + the rest of her feeding= sleepy eyes, cooing baby, & happy Daddy & Mommy

 

I suppose that she enjoys the swaddling because it reminds her of her cramped quarters in Laura’s belly all those months.  She loves it and will begin to soothe almost instantly.  In fact, if she happens to wiggle out of her “burrito state” during sleepy time, extreme protest will occur and new burrito-making must be reinitiated.  She craves to be wrapped tightly and safely in her Daddy’s arms.

This tight swaddle also serves other purposes.  Keeping her wrapped so snugly assures that she won’t accidently roll over on her face while she sleeps or that she won’t become cold in the night.  You’ve got to think, seven pounds isn’t that much body weight to keep little girls warm at night.  The burrito makes her comfortable and safe . . . not mention cuter than a little bug in a rug.

Hebrews 10:23 speaks of tightness, hope, and trust.  The truth of this passage speaks to me in multiple ways.  First of all, the hope that we’ve been given must be nourished and protected as if it were our own little precious baby.  As a pastor for all these years, the most difficult thing I’ve experienced are the innumerable people who didn’t hold tightly to the gift of hope they were given and who lost the most precious part of their existence. 

Temptation.  Rejection.  Insecurity.  Guilt.  Difficulty.  Loss.  There are many things that can unravel the airtight promises of hope and grace that have been given to us.  We must “hold tightly” to them and not just leave their welfare to chance.  Your relationship with God is your treasure– so swaddle it tightly and hold it close to you.  Keep it far away from the one who would seek to steal it away or do it harm.

The other concept of this “swaddled hope” that we’ve been given is that I really believe that God longs to wrap us up in his own little burrito . . . spiritually, of course.  Please don’t just let this notion pass you by as another flowery illustration with no value besides superfluous, empty encouragement.  God’s word is riddled with promises to surround us with protection– to hide us away– to keep us close and safe to Him.  It’s not just some “kumbaya” lullaby; it’s scripturally accurate.

Like those late nights when I rock my little Sadie safely to sleep in her tightly wound blanket, God’s arms long to surround you.  As this verse says, He can be trusted to keep His promise.  Those promises are the swaddling blanket of our peace with Him.  So remember what He’s promised you personally and retake ownership of your blanket– hold tightly to His promises as He holds tightly to You.  It begs one more verse:

Philippians 3:12 (NKJV)– Not that I have already attained, or am already perfected; but I press on, that I may lay hold of that for which Christ Jesus has also laid hold of me.

Enough said– sleep tight.

 

~ by johndriver on July 25, 2008.

2 Responses to “My Sadie Burrito: The Chronicles of Sadie (day 8)”

  1. I want to be as close to God as possible! I want him to hold me that tight so I am ready for challenges that may come my way. The closer I get to God the stronger I become, which means I will experience tougher situations in my life. That is okay! As long as I continue to hold onto what God has promised me, he is pulling me even tighter to him. Having that in mind, I will be able to get through whatever comes my way. He wants to give me a hope! I just need to step out and take it!

  2. I must say, I’m a little sad that the chronicles of Sadie are over. I’m going to miss them. They were my favorite, but I don’t guess you can continue this throughout Sadie’s whole life. So I must put my feelings of sadness away.

    So about this blog…
    I love how you referred to the bundle as God. Because all He wants to do is protect us from harm and from anyone who wants to take us down. It reminded me of a verse that I read in 1 Corinthians the other day: If anyone destroys God’s temple God will destroy him; for God’s temple is sacred and you are that temple.
    I just love that verse because it lets me know that God is looking out for me and He won’t let anything happen to me and if anything tries to come after me, He’s gonna let them see His rath. So I do just need to rap myself up with God because nothing will keep me safe more than He.

Leave a Reply

 
