The Schematics of Creation

August 8th, 2008

Focus Text: Proverbs 3: 19-20 (NLT)

19 By wisdom the Lord founded the earth;
      by understanding he created the heavens.
 20 By his knowledge the deep fountains of the earth burst forth,
      and the dew settles beneath the night sky.

 

Stop Here and Reflect Before Reading Ahead

At times, I refer to an experience that shaped many aspects of my life.  Back in 2004, I was hired on at Life Assembly in Mt. Juliet, Tennessee.  I had been teaching in the public school system and youth pastoring part-time for several years in East Tennessee.  Pastor Andrew, my new boss, had told me that the church was embarking upon a building project and that we, the staff, might help out a bit.  As someone who had always worked with my hands and was no stranger to manual labor, the idea of a little dabble in the construction world seemed pretty intriguing.  Drive a few nails here.  Drill a few holes there.  Hey, how hard could it be?

I awakened at 4:00 a.m. and left my wife (temporarily) in East Tennessee, making the trek across the state to Mt. Juliet.  I arrived around 6:30 a.m. on the building site and emerged from my car with a fresh perspective and a willingness to earn my keep.  After a short “ceremony” from the guys that bequeathed me the honor of my own hard hat, I set out to help out on the minor construction project that I had been told about.

Almost two years later, I was still on that site.  I spent virtually every day, along with the other guys on staff, toiling away in the world of construction.  Pastor Andrew probably didn’t mean to mislead me, but I’d say that our roles ended up being less than minor.  Truth be told, those years were some of the most difficult, yet most rewarding times of my life.  I became so close to my co-workers and literally had the honor of bleeding and sweating for a church and its people that I have come to dearly love . 

The other inadvertent result of this process was my personal exposure to the world of construction.  I can’t count how many hours I spent sculpting the landscape of our property with a Bobcat or ferrying dirt on an old backhoe.  If digging holes by hand were a professional sport, I’d have an endorsement deal with Nike.  I framed walls, hung drywall, wired light fixtures, and performed an assortment of other tasks that would be impossible to list here.  

But one of the fascinating parts of my exposure to this world was viewing the plans of our building.   Looking over Pastor Andrew’s shoulder at the thick stack of huge papers was intimidating at first.  Page after page of symbols, equations, and small-print directions might as well have been Greek or hieroglyphics to me.  Our building wasn’t that huge, but the schematics were very complicated . . . well, probably not to other people who are familiar with these kinds of things . . . but definitely to me.

I’m impressed that there are architects and designers out there who have the brainpower to conceptualize and actually draw such intricate plans.  I know that they go to school and get specialized training, but to execute such large projects still seems remarkable.  And if that’s how complicated our little building plans were, just imagine what knowledge and talent it requires to design the world’s tallest skyscrapers.  Or consider what amazing things must have lay within the minds of ancient cultures that erected such structures as the pyramids or the Great Wall of China.  It’s mind-boggling!

But then this passage comes along and puts God’s wisdom in perfect perspective.  If human wisdom is beyond my limited imagination, what does one do with the architect of the “earth” and the “heavens?”  Man, I bet that’s one huge set of schematics!  Proverbs makes it clear that God planned and created the most impressive aspects of creation by His “wisdom,” “understanding,” and “knowledge.”  

So one must ask themselves: “If God had the talent, wisdom, and spectacular knowledge to design the infinite wonders of creation, why am I so worried about His work in my life?”  How often do we drown ourselves in anxiety over the “construction” that God is performing on the worksites of our humanity.  I don’t know about you, but I bet that if He is smart enough to fling stars into the sky and stir foam into the ocean’s deep that He can handle a little project like me.

The schematics of our everlasting well-being have already been drafted in such wisdom, understanding, and knowledge that we are guaranteed to stand strong throughout the annals of eternity.  So relax, His wisdom is already sketched on the pages of grace– in the end, we will be His most impressive project.

~ by johndriver on September 8, 2008.

3 Responses to “The Schematics of Creation”

  1. this also makes me realize i need more trust. trust in Him that i will be directed. He did create the whole world and myself, im pretty sure He has a perfect plan for each one of us. i just need to trust Him.

  2. so this definitely helps remind me of the peace and rest i should have in our lord. moving here over the summer was huge to me. i was taken from all that was familiar, to start over. i worried about adjusting and often i hid it well, but i had such a hard time. even still sometimes, of course, its rough being away. but i know i am in gods hands, he knows his plan for me and my family, and everything will allright. for that i am thankful.

  3. This is so true! I am one of God’s many “blueprints.” That is awesome to think about. When architecs spend so much time to every little detail into their building project, we can only imagine what God is doing for us! I need to back off, and let God have the final say with what he has intended for my life in the first place. This shows us how important we are to God. Thank you God for loving me so much to care that much about my life!

Leave a Reply

 
