Where’s “Wisdo?”

November 5th, 2008

Focus Text: Proverbs 8: 8-11 (NLT)

 8 My advice is wholesome.
      There is nothing devious or crooked in it.
 
9 My words are plain to anyone with understanding,
      clear to those with knowledge.
 
10 Choose my instruction rather than silver,
      and knowledge rather than pure gold.
 
11 For wisdom is far more valuable than rubies.
      Nothing you desire can compare with it.

 

Stop Here and Reflect Before Reading Ahead

I don’t suppose that I ever owned many of them growing up, but I was always mesmerized by the “Where’s Waldo?” books.  Pages and pages of intricately drawn cartoons replete with an kaleidoscope of colors and characters.  To simply behold the picture was interesting in and of itself. Some characters were climbing trees and others were riding bikes.  In fact, staring at a “Where’s Waldo?” drawing can be some real entertainment.

But being entertained by the whole page isn’t the point of “Where’s Waldo?” No, the purpose is to train one’s eye to pick out from the huge montage of images one little man in a red and white striped outfit with a toboggan on his head.  There are many distractions to the accomplishment of this goal. As I’m writing this blog, I’ve opened up some Waldo puzzles in another window to get a feel for things.  I’ve got to tell you, there’s some funny stuff in there!  People eating, stumbling about, spilling hot liquid on each other. All in all, the distractions that keep one from finding Waldo are quite entertaining.

But again, if one wants to be successful at this particular challenge, they must continue to pursue the goal: finding one little weird-looking guy named Waldo.  All else is useless except this one mission.

Being sidetracked by a flurry of distractions is a definite feature of life in our society today.  In many ways, our lives resemble a Waldo puzzle.  People are scurrying about through their day in an attempt to complete whatever frenzied list of tasks lies in their hand at the moment.  Work, family, bills, sports, homework, housework.  To say that most of our lives are overwhelming is a huge understatement.  Most of our lives are just flat-out crazy!

Yet in the midst of the madness, a solitary goal has been made known to us.  I am aware of this goal, yet I often find myself immersed in the details of those things that surround that goal rather than searching for what matters.  You know the feeling, right?  Particularly in my own life, my entire existence revolves around ministry and helping others grow closer to God. Yet, sometimes I look up at the end of the day to realize that I’ve frantically labored my day away and have done nothing to actually move closer to God myself.  How ironic that the very thing that my life is focused upon doing is the very thing that I have the most trouble doing myself.

This passage speaks of this very concept by telling us that wisdom is “plain to anyone with understanding” and that we should choose Godly instruction over “silver,” “gold,” or “rubies.”  In other words, the very thing that we are searching for in this life isn’t hidden somewhere off the map of our existence; no, it’s lying in plain sight right in the middle of all the madness. 

The silver, gold, and rubies here don’t necessarily have to just mean silver, gold, and rubies.  Most of us in 2008 don’t buy movie tickets with a pouch of tiny rubies.  No, we use money and money is nothing other than a voucher that represents a certain amount something of value.  That money that we hand over to the cashier isn’t just paper; it’s a reflection of our energy and efforts.  It’s our time and work . . . or someone else’s time and work.  

The efforts of life to put more of those pieces of paper in our pockets can sometimes be all-consuming.  Hey, you don’t have to be an adult to understand this concept.  Even most middle schoolers are already thinking about what they might enjoy doing as a career and usually, income is a chief reason for their choices.  Money is necessary indeed, but the obsession to gain it at all costs can easily cause our eyes to cross on the puzzling madness before us.

And amidst the madness, wisdom (or Wisdo, as I call it) is often never found.  Hey, in many cases, we’re not even looking for him anymore.  We’re just trying to ease the headache of sorting through the mess of our lives’ pursuits.

But we must never forget the point of this game called life: to find God’s wisdom and direction.  It is worth more than any paper we will ever fold up in our wallets.  In fact, “nothing you desire can compare with it.”

Nothing, eh?  That’s a pretty big statement.  I’ve got some mighty impressive desires rattling around in that old brain of mine.  One being the fact that there’s now a head coaching vacancy at my old Alma Mater, Tennessee.  Hey, this could be my big shot!  Finally, my athletic brilliance will be made known to the world.

Ooops, there I go again . . . where’s Wisdo?  We’ve got to keep pursuing that which has the greatest value . .   even if other items of lesser value are crowded all around Him.  

Trust me, there’s nothing more entertaining than finding Wisdo . . . well, you know what I mean.

Oh, and I think my coaching record speaks for itself.  No losses . . . oh, and no wins either.

~ by johndriver on November 5, 2008.

4 Responses to “Where’s “Wisdo?””

  1. I love how Solomon starts out this passage – “Hey guys, listen up here. I’ve got nothing to gain here – no ulterior motives. I’m just trying to help you out.” ( That’s the paraphrased version.) Looking back, some of the best and most useful advice I’ve ever received came from people looking to share their knowledge with me in the same manner – for no reason at all. Anytime I hear something like the phrase, “I’ve got nothing to gain by sharing this with you, I just want to help…” I really start to pay attention.

    I also like Solomon’s next comment, “this isn’t rocket science. Any idiot should be able to grasp this concept without any problems.” (Also paraphrased).

  2. Ha I loved those books! This reminds me of when I’m trying to find the ketchup in the fridge and its right in front of me but I still can’t see it because I’m looking elsewhere because I don’t think it would be in the front.

    We as people are blinded my wisdom if we don’t have a relationship with God.. the wisdom will look almost disguised, because we think “that’s to easy” The truth is though God lays gifts down on our pathway in life. Sometimes we don’t want them or think nooo that can be it the wrapping looks differant. “Spiritually of course” God doesn’t try and trick us. We trick our self thinking of something that it’s not. I know that God has a beautiful plan for me in my life. But if I’m too busy think that “oh no He doesn’t want me to do that” The things that He wants me to do will never get done. Guys God lays things in our path for a purpose its right there. I don’t wanna be skipping pages if I can’t find “waldo” on that page he is there I just gotta look more. :]

    Thanks!

    Em :]

  3. I love when read The Daily Thread and it everything to do with everything i am dealing with. Coodoos to you John Driver. * Are you a mind reader, wait duh its so a God thing.* The sad part about this post is that this is the first time I have read in like two weeks. So sad… I know. On monday I was thinking of it and of course I made some excuse about being to busy … lots of school stuff, this ruby or that piece of gold…something like that. I was not seeking the wisdom for what I needed about what to take care of first to be prepared for the college group trip this weekend… Heck yes I am so excited and bringing my hiking shoes… anyway see I am so distracted. 🙂 I needed to seek wisdom. How do I handle this situation? Or that problem? I forgot about searching for my “Wisdo”! Now all have to do is wait and pray for the “Wisdo” that I need to find. I am going to hunt it down! *Where is my magnifing glass?* I can’t wait for God’s next piece of the puzzle in my life’s journey. It’s fun and nerve racking to see what way he will reveal his mercy on my life, and on my nerves. All know is that God will never give me anything I can’t handle. * with His help of course* Even if all of my problems are piled on at once. Coodoos to you God for your amazing timing!

  4. Please God help me to keep my eye on the prize. I want to focus in the direction you are taking me so I can find that “wisdo.” 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
