Truth: Detest and Delight

March 4th, 2009

Focus Text: Proverbs 12: 22 (NLT)

 22 The Lord detests lying lips,
      but he delights in those who tell the truth.

 

Stop Here and Reflect Before Reading Ahead

Detest is a pretty strong word, don’t you think?  I don’t detest many things.  Rogue hairs that make their way to the bathroom floor.  Traffic jams that are caused by nothing more than someone else who is in less of a hurry than me.  Restaurant experiences in which my drink seldom gets refilled.  Paula Abdul’s comments after good and bad American Idol contestants.  You get the point.

In college, I detested Chemistry.  The basic reasons were easy to determine.  Chemistry was everything that I wasn’t interested in.  I loved the humanities and the arts . . . history, psychology, music, political science.  I was more interested in balancing my time between song writing and visiting the campus cafeteria than chemical equations.  I knew that I would never be a chemist and that I would most likely have little need for periodic tables and bunsen burners.

We usually reserve our detest for those things that are our opposites.  If you love rap, you might detest screamo metal.  If you only love chicken fingers, you may detest sushi rolls.  We detest that which is most foreign to our comfortabilities.  

The same is true for God.  The reason He “detests lying lips” is easily ascertainable: lying is the opposite of who He is.  Easy now, or we might oversimplify one of the most profound complexities of the universe.  When we speak of truth in relation to God, we’re not just talking about the opposite of lies.  We’re speaking of the fabric of creation . . . the spiritual molecules of heavenly dimensions.

Truth is the quintessential attribute of God’s existence.  He doesn’t just tell the truth; He is truth. He doesn’t just not lie; what He says is the definition of truth.  It’s not just impossible for God to lie because He would never decide to bend the truth; it’s impossible because bending the truth would literally be bending Himself.  

Even the laws and rules of a secular society are based upon truth that was established by Deity. When Biblical standards are supposedly discarded and abandoned, it’s funny how they somehow still resurface.  Even the godless ascribe to the truths of God when they acknowledge innate principles that are inescapable.  Don’t murder.  Don’t steal.  Don’t cheat.  The laws of humanity are reflections of the truths of divinity.

God detests lying because it is the antithesis of who He is.  Simple enough.

But the coin flips to the converse truth:  ” . . . but he delights in those who tell the truth.”  I delight in the things that are near to my heart.  My wife and our time together throughout the varying seasons of life.  My nocturnal walk into my little girl’s room to remove her pink bunny from her bed and to listen to her delicate breaths.  Ice cream . . . in any weather.  

God doesn’t just delight in actions; He delights in people.  How amazing to think that the thoughts of the Almighty might dwell upon the seemingly insignificant lives of little people like us! When we speak the truth, we align ourselves with the substance of who God is.  We mimic His words and demonstrate that His heart has encountered ours . . . leaving us changed.

Truth is best reflection of God.  The most convincing evidence of our transformation.  The delight of the Father’s heart.

And that’s the truth of the matter.


~ by johndriver on March 4, 2009.

One Response to “Truth: Detest and Delight”

  1. This sounded pretty close to what I felt the past month or so. I wondered of the odditities of this world and found that it is very detestable. That what we do or say could lean displeasure to God. I have come to realize that many things have come to displease me in this world. The fact of it is that no matter what I could do or say, or wherever I am I can not find anyway to please myself. Only through the real TRUTH has my happyness been with throughout the day, with the reflection of truth shining on each one of us.

Leave a Reply

 
