Love and Food

March 16th, 2009

Focus Text: Proverbs 13: 2 (NLT)

2 Wise words will win you a good meal,
      but treacherous people have an appetite for violence.

 

Stop Here and Reflect Before Reading Ahead

Ah, food!  Now here’s a topic I can really sink my creative teeth into.  Though I am smaller in size these days due to excessive running and a complicated life schedule, I have not always been so.  Neigh, my waltz with the all-things-culinary began at an early age and to this day, I still love to eat . . . so much so that I have to focus constantly or I will engorge myself to the point of utter misery.  How can something so inspirational inflict so much pain?  How indeed.

In my adult years, I have come to love the diversity of the eating experience . . . and diversified I am.  My affair with food began many years ago in the Driver home.  My wonderful mother was (and still is) an incredible cook.  Her spaghetti, chili, meatloaf, mashed potatoes . . . they were all divine.  If you’ve ever met my mother, then you know that she is the personification of comfort.  Strangers feel comfortable in her home.  Over the years, many kids down on their luck have found refuge in a back bedroom at my parents’ house.  Mom equals comfort and her food does exactly the same . . . it’s the ultimate comfort food and to this day, I can’t walk into her kitchen without being offered a cornucopia of various eating delights.  

All I need to do is ask.

Fast forward a few years and the second chapter of my food story began simultaneously with the emergence of my relationship with Laura.  From the get-go, Laura began to expose me to food options that I had never had the courage to try.  Sushi.  Couscous.  Fondu.  My wife is the epidemy  of culinary brilliance.  Sometimes, she’ll just find ingredients in the cabinet and “whip up” an incredible meal off the top of her head.  No recipe.  Just her natural affinity to understand tastes and their combinations.

All I need to do is ask.

But, as I said, food for me is about more than just the tastes; it’s about the experience.  Laura and I have had many memorable moments in restaurants.  Our best meal, in my opinion, came on a rainy afternoon in 2004 in a restaurant in pre-Katrina New Orleans called “Court of the Two Sisters.”  It was a Sunday brunch and we sat outside as a natural canopy of ivy foliage shielded us from the light rain.  It was one of those rare moments when it was raining and sunny at the same time.  We ate lobster, crawfish etouffee, and a spread of other succulent wonders that boggled the mind and the taste buds.  We sat and discussed life and love as a small jazz quartet serenaded in the corner of the french-style courtyard.

Yeah, that was some meal.

Did I do anything to deserve it?  Well, maybe one thing.  This passage states that “Wise words will win you a good meal, but treacherous people have an appetite for violence.”  The wisest words I ever spoke were stated in the form of a question over a meal . . . “Mr. Canada, can I marry your daughter?”  That was one of the only times in my life that I barely touched my food.

He said yes and, more importantly, so did she.  The power of one strategic sentence in one’s life.  One question that has won me a lifetime of adventure.  More delectable meals than I will ever be able to remember.  More love than I can fathom.

What’s the moral of the story?  Ask God for wisdom and when He answers, speak the wisdom He has imparted to you.  Seek counsel and when you’re sure, be willing to say it.

All you have to do is ask.

 

 

~ by johndriver on March 17, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
