Inconsistent Consistency

January 11th, 2010

This past week marked the second full year that I have been running and working out every week.  I don’t say that to boast; I say it because no one thinks it is less probable than myself.  I never would have thought that I could sustain something like this for this amount of time.

Funny thing is, though, the past several weeks I have been less consistent due to holiday schedules, minor sickness, etc.  You would think that with two years under my belt, my belt wouldn’t move at all with just a few weeks of lesser consistency.  You’d be wrong.  I’ve gained some weight and I feel awful. Weak.  Draggy.  Yucky.

I’m not back to where I started, but I have learned that we never arrive.  We must continue today even when we’ve been already been continuing for a long stretch of time.  We can become frustrated over this truth, or we can embrace it as the chance to begin anew each day.

In the end, we must continue to crave the good things, not just avoid the bad things.  My biggest concern isn’t that I want to inhale a half-gallon of ice cream; that’s pretty normal for me.  My greatest issue is that I’ve stopped craving oranges and grapes and other things that my body has come to love.  It’s time to eat an apple.  It’s time to drink over sixty-four ounces of water each day.  It’s time to reinvent myself . . . again.  The spiritual implications are huge.

What about you?  Where are you in this process?  I really want to hear your thoughts on this one.

~ by johndriver on January 11, 2010.

3 Responses to “Inconsistent Consistency”

  1. Heck ya man!
    I have found that Hollidays are my enemy. Ive been on a workout schedule for the past 6 months straight. But during the hollidays ive fallen back into laziness, my first week back and i had yet to lift a weight or run AT ALL, my schedule kept me from it or the bad roads, either way i had a reason..more correct “excuse”. My process is getting back into the routine. its never easy to start!.. starting back is a whole different story! But then again, ive found that the gym is kinda where i have therapy, where i let out my emotions. Ask anyone thats worked out with me.. im not very approachable at the gym 🙂 haha its not a pretty site i suppose but im happier through and through with it.

  2. Great points, Evan.

  3. The hardest part of anything is just getting started and trying establish the routine. I tend to subscribe to Scarlett O’Hara’s philosophy, “I’ll think about tomorrow.” It doesn’t work very well. 🙂 The first “yes” is hard. The second “yes” is even harder. However, after you say “yes” a few times, it does get a lot easier. Here’s to saying “yes” to good, healthy habits in 2010!

    YES!
    YES!
    YES!

Leave a Reply

 
